A driver will usually not be sentenced to serve time in jail after a typical misdemeanor DUI conviction in California, but it’s possible that a driver will face enhanced penalties in the state for an aggravated DUI or repeat offense.
For example, FindLaw states that when a person registers a blood-alcohol level that is significantly above the legal limit (.16 percent or greater), the defendant can be subjected to more substantial penalties, such as more jail time, higher fines, longer period of probation, or more community service. A driver can also face enhanced penalties for a DUI conviction in California if he or she was under the age of 21 at the time of the DUI incident or if the driver refused chemical testing at the time of his or her arrest.
A second, third, or subsequent California DUI conviction within a 10 year period can also land a person back in significant trouble with the law, especially when it comes to an offender's driving privileges. While a first-time DUI offender will only have a drivers license suspended for six months, a second offense will result in a two year license revocation period and a third offense will result in a three year license revocation period.
The penalties for an aggravated DUI in Los Angeles or repeat DUI offense can also extend far beyond just the legal penalties. Some people might easily forget that a California DUI conviction can lead to increased insurance rates as well as issues with future background checks that could affect a person's ability to get a job.