March 2013 News: The Los Angeles DUI Blog

The Los Angeles DUI Law Blog

March 2013 Archives

1st-Time DUI in California Costs $16K: Report

Drunken driving can cost you, in dollars and in lives. Especially in California.

Even a first-time DUI conviction in the Golden State can cost you as much as $15,649. That statistic comes from a recent report by the Automobile Club of Southern California, reports the Los Angeles Times.

5 Tips for Hiring a Los Angeles DUI Attorney

If you are charged with a DUI, you may be faced with choosing one of hundreds of options for a Los Angeles DUI defense attorney.

Choosing the right DUI attorney is extremely important, as you have very high stakes in the outcome of the case. A DUI conviction can lead to jail time, monetary fines, and a criminal record that can follow you for life.

To help you choose an attorney, here are five tips to remember:

Pleading Guilty to DUI: Do You Need a Lawyer?

Let's say you get pulled over by police on a Saturday night and when you blow into the Breathalyzer, the number is way above California's legal limit of 0.08%. At that point, you pretty much have to plead guilty to the DUI charge, right?

Wrong. Let's be clear about this: You never have to plead guilty to any charge. In some situations, it may be wiser to do so, but the defendant always has a choice.

So how can you know when pleading guilty is a good choice? Making that decision depends on a lot of factors such as the evidence, the charges, and your prior record.

Any guesses on who can help you analyze that information?